Office 2010 – System Requirements (x86)

So this is how it started . I grabbed  hold a copy of Microsoft Office Premium Plum (x86) from MSDN and tried putting it onto my XP Desktop. The first thing i noticed that there was a check that the installer undertakes , causing slow systems like mine to freeze up (see my system config below):

I personally therefore believe that if you are looking to upgrade/install Office , please arrange a small budget for some memory modules to be put inside your system.

After sometime installation started , with frequent hiccups finally it came up with an error :

I did not want to upgrade my system to SP3 or MSXML hence i as a good child started the installation on my wife’s Sony Vaio portable running on VISTA SP1.  And man !!!! , it was quick.  She had a copy of Office 2007 already in her system , so all i had to do was an upgrade.

Leave a Reply

